E.S. Moore, Author – Kat Redding Series

To Walk the Night (Kat Redding, #1)

Thank you so much for joining us here today to talk about your new novel, To Walk the Night.

First I have to tell you that I enjoyed To Walk the Night when I first read it, but more than that, it is one of those stories that the more you think about it, the more you realized how much you enjoyed the story and the characters and I am really looking forward to seeing where you take the series from here.

I love to ask—have you always wanted to write or is this something that you were drawn to later on?

I’ve always wanted to write. There was a time I quit, thinking there was no chance I’d ever succeed, but eventually I realized there was no reason for me not to at least try. You can’t obtain your dreams if you don’t put yourself out there and go for it.

To Walk the Night is your first novel, but do you have any other stories out there?

Currently, outside the novel, the only things out there are a few stories written for blogs. I actually struggle more with short stories than I do longer pieces, so I tend not to write them. But I am thinking of trying to change that sometime in the near future.

Is your writing and reading interest always toward Urban Fantasy?

Not really. I read a lot of horror and thriller novels as well and sometimes will go a good two months or more without picking up a single urban fantasy novel. I also read some epic fantasy, but not a ton. I would like to write a few horror/thriller/mystery novels at some point down the line as well. And what’s odd is, the short stories I have written and tucked away are sci-fi based, though I don’t really read sci-fi at all.

Can you give us a basic background of the world and the characters of To Walk the Night?

The world in To Walk the Night is a variant on our own. Some of the locations are the same, but because of the Uprising years ago, when the vampires and werewolves made themselves known and pretty much took over, things have developed a little differently. It is definitely a darker world than what we have now and is also a bit darker than some of the other urban fantasy worlds.

This does impact the characters obviously. Everyone’s life has been pretty rough thanks to the constant danger. No one is safe. Even the monsters fear what might be hiding in the dark.

Your characters are fascinating to me in that they are not perfect – Kat Redding isn’t just a perfect vampire killing machine, she has feelings, misses her family, and she questions herself; Ethan is part-genious, part-agoraphobic; and who I find most fascinating is your choice of the character–Jonathan. Jonathan is a werewolf who approaches Kat for her help in taking down a vampire house. Although the jury is still out whether Jonathan is a good guy or bad guy in your overall series (can you really trust a shifter?), I find your choice of an “imperfect” main character quite intriguing. Can you tell us a little about your choice of Jonathan as a main character (who I hope to see more of in your next book, Tainted Night, Tainted blood)?

I’m not sure, really. I prefer characters who have flaws. Jonathan seemed like the perfect character to help Kat learn more about herself and the impact she has on the world. He’s not perfect, has his own dark and mysterious past, but in this world, doesn’t everyone? I also wanted someone who tried to remain calm despite disaster, something Kat obviously struggles with. He is a sort of balance, I guess, a grounding force for her.

And yes…you will be seeing more of him! (YAY!!! 🙂 )

Do you have an idea of where you expect the series to go between now and the end or is it more a sit down and see where the characters take you process?

I actually have a good idea where I want to go. As the series progresses, those things can always chance. I won’t force the characters down a path they don’t want to go. Hopefully I’ll be able to tell all the tales and won’t get lost along the way!

Can you give us a little hint of what we can look forward to in your next book?

Book 2, Tainted Night, Tainted Blood revolves around mysterious deaths that are being attributed to Lady Death, even though she has nothing to do with them. This obviously doesn’t sit well with her and she goes out to find out who is doing it and why.

Kat’s past definitely comes into play here. You’ll also get to see how she changes, how she deals with her feelings in regard to that past, as well as those around her (Hello, Jonathan!) There’s still some action and blood, but you do get into her relationships a bit more.

Thank you for joining us here today. I am happy to hear that Book 3 is also being written. Thank you so much for writing a wonderful new world. Personally, I am looking forward to more in this series and to seeing where Kat Redding and her friends go from here.

Thanks for having me!

Check out our review of To Walk the Night after you enter our giveaway.

From childhood, E.S. Moore wanted to be a writer.  His first book, To Walk the Night, the first in the Kat Redding series, was released by Kensington in January 2012. The second book in the series – Tainted Night, Tainted Blood – will be released July 3, 2012.  E.S. Moore is also a reader and video gamer.  He currently lives in Ohio with his wife, son, and an army of cats.

10 responses to “E.S. Moore, Author – Kat Redding Series

  1. Diane Wolf

    Would live to read this boo! Haven’t read many from male authors so I think it’s time I start finding some and this looks like the perfect start! Thank for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.